Mission Statement: 
The University of Iowa Anti-violence Coalition (AVC) is a multidisciplinary team focused on ensuring a coordinated community response to prevention and intervention of sexual misconduct, dating/domestic violence, and stalking.

The OSMRC takes pride in facilitating collaboration across campus and within the community. The Anti-violence Coalition meets monthly to discuss pertinent and timely issues pertaining to 1) policies and procedures, 2) education and training, and 3) system response. Updates and recommendations are routinely provided to the University President.

Coalition subcommittees often work on specific priority areas. Recent subcommittees have focused on reviewing web resources for victims/survivors, developing policy recommendations for stalking, and creating tools to promote evidence-informed prevention education strategies.

If you would like to be involved or have questions, contact Monique DiCarlo, the UI Sexual Misconduct Response Coordinator.

Members during 2016-17 include:

  • Alicia Ambler, ESL Department
  • Kimmie Andresen-Reed, Transformative Healing
  • Tom Baker, Office of the Dean of Students
  • Anne Bassett, Office of Strategic Communication
  • Lisa Brewster, UI Health Care Human Resources
  • Sara Bultsma, UISG
  • Rodney Bunyan, ROTC
  • ​Khirin Carter, WRAC
  • Jane Caton, Threat Assessment Team
  • Mara Cheney, Student Health and Wellness
  • Lyla Clerry, Athletics
  • Monique DiCarlo, Office of the Sexual Misconduct Response Coordinator
  • Delaney Dixon, DVIP
  • Georgina Dodge, Chief Diversity Office and Title IX Coordinator
  • Rebecca Don, Student Health and Wellness
  • Sara Feldmann, Office of the Sexual Misconduct Response Coordinator
  • Lauren Freeman, UISG
  • Carolyn Hartley, School of Social Work
  • Vickie Houser, Student Disability Services
  • Cody Howell, WRAC
  • Fatima Jayoma, Monsoon United Asian Women of Iowa
  • Susan Junis, RVAP
  • Erica Kaldenberg, REACH Program
  • Jeremy Kinser, University Counseling Service
  • Nathan Kooker, Student Advisory Committee on Sexual Misconduct
  • Helen Lahrman, Center for Student Involvement & Leadership
  • Samantha Lange, GPSG
  • Janet Lyness, Johnson County Attorney's Office
  • Bela Magalhaes, Student Advisory Committee on Sexual Misconduct
  • Kendra Malone, Chief Diversity Office
  • Monica Marcelo, Residence Education
  • Kate Miller, Council on the Status of Women
  • ​Taivna Mills, International Students and Scholars Services
  • Jennifer Modestou, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity
  • Lon Moeller, Office of the Provost
  • Maggie Moore, Employee Assistance Program
  • Kara Park, Athletics
  • Alton Poole, Department of Public Safety
  • Sumaya Rabee, Nisaa
  • ​Lyn Redington, Office of the Dean of Students
  • Pam Ries, UI REACH
  • Adam Robinson, RVAP
  • Connie Schriver Cervantes, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity
  • ​Yirui Song, Monsoon United Asian Women of Iowa
  • Scott Stevens, Iowa City Police Department
  • Tiffini Stevenson Earl, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity
  • Linda Stewart Kroon, Women's Resource and Action Center
  • Pam Terrill, College of Nursing, SANE/SART Program
  • Elizabeth Tovar, Athletics
  • Amy Vander Busard, UI REACH
  • Tanya Villhauer, Student Health & Wellness
  • Dave Visin, Department of Public Safety
  • Steve Wehling, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity
  • Andy Winkelmann, Athletics
  • Rachel Zuckerman, UISG


PDF iconAnti-Violence Coalition Orientation Booklet